Employees Can Recover Significant Compensation From Pay Stub Claims

The California Labor Code has strict rules over what employers must include on employee pay stubs. Some employers may accidentally make mistakes on pay stubs, while other employers may withhold information to underpay workers. The dedicated staff at JLG Lawyers fights for workers across California with pay stub claims.

Our offices in Glendale and San Francisco help people in the Los Angeles metropolitan area and across the state with their pay stub claims. You can schedule your free, 30-minute consultation with one of our trusted attorneys by calling 818-630-9099. Our attorneys have extensive employment law experience and a history of favorable case outcomes.

Learning What Qualifies as a Pay Stub Violation

California Labor Code section 226(a) outlines nine items that must appear on every paycheck. Any employer that fails to include this needed information must pay $50 to each employee for the first violation and $100 for every subsequent violation up to a maximum of $4,000. In addition to any paid compensation, the employer may have to pay for the employee's legal fees.

Here is what the law requires employers to include on every paycheck:

  1. Gross wages earned
  2. Total hours worked
  3. The number of piece-rate units earned
  4. All deductions
  5. Net wages earned
  6. The dates of the pay period
  7. An employee ID or the last four digits of the employee's Social Security number
  8. The legal name and address of the employer
  9. All applicable hourly rates during the pay period and the corresponding number of hours worked

You may have a pay stub claim if your employer does not include all the legally required information on your paycheck. We will review your paycheck and other relevant case information to find out if your rights have been violated. Our skilled litigators can also represent groups of employees in a class-action lawsuit.

Have an Attorney Review Your Paycheck in a Free Consultation

Our attorneys can review your check and see if your employer is breaking the law in a free, 30-minute consultation. Call us now at 818-630-9099 to schedule your free first meeting. You can also send us your questions by using the contact form. Se habla español.